Conditions were good for the second Annual Kilmovee 10k last Saturday afternoon. Some said it was very hot, but nobody among the record turnout of runners and walkers -335 finishers- were really complaining. There were entries from 16 counties and from the UK. John Roddy and his community team at Kilmovee Shamrocks put on an excellently organised race with the help of John Fitzsimons and Pat Hooper from Raheny Shamrock AC.

The course was mainly on single track road, flat with gentle undulations and a short but tough uphill section after the 9k mark to test tired legs. “It’s a hill, get over it” read the supportive roadside notice at the beginning of the climb.
Some may have missed the other eight similarly veined notices out on the course.

Race winner Martin Conroy (Sligo AC) led from the start and had a 25 metre lead over Robert Malseed (Mayo AC) at 3k. He gradually extended this lead, though pressed tenaciously by Robert and finished forty seconds ahead in 32.40, the same time as his 2010 victory, A Mayo AC quartet ran together for most of the race before Timmie Glavey broke away to finish third (34.37) ahead of 4th Anto Devaney (35.02), 5th Kevin Mellett (35.11) and 6th Andrew Lynskey (35.37) The women’s race saw Mary Gleeson set the pace from the start and she ran a great race to finish first in 37.20. Mary is an experienced Road League former winner and has set out on the 2011 League trail with 25 points on the leaderboard. Westport native Niamh Richardson (Kilkenny City Harriers) finished second in 38.41 closely followed by Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) in 38.57, her best time of the three 10k races she has run in the past two weeks.

Mayo AC athletes won both women’s age category races. Angela O’Connor (41.01) ran almost 40 seconds faster than her time in Dublin when she won the National 10k o45 title. Ann Lennon made a fine comeback to the road to win the o40 section in 41.22.

Kilmovee 10k Results Summary

Senior Men
1: Martin Conroy (Sligo AC) 32.40
2: Robert Malseed (Mayo AC) 33.24
3: Timmie Glavey (Mayo AC) 34.37

Senior Women
1: Mary Gleeson (Mayo AC) 37.20
2: Niamh Richardson (Kilkenny City Harriers) 38.41
3: Colette Tuohy (Mayo AC) 38.57

Men over 40
1st: David Corcoran (Civil Service) 36.44

Women over 40
1st: Ann Lennon (Mayo AC) 41.22

Women over 45
1st: Angela O’Connor (Mayo AC) 41.01

Men over 50
1st Billy Gallagher (Mayo AC) 39.20

Junior Men 1st: Jonathan Deal 38.29
Junior Women 1st:Susan Shiel-Rankin 39.06